Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Universities are normally seen as the place where the next generation can increase knowledge to improve employment. An increasing number of students regard fundamental theories and elementary courses useless, they suggest university should give more practical training instead of providing theoretical lessons. In my view, theoretical knowledge is important as it would be beneficial to young generation’s growth and future career.

By learning theories at university, people can gain a full understanding of concepts and principles of different subjects, so they can be skillful at their professions. Many theories have developed from the practices of predecessors, so this theories knowledge has practical implications. Thus students who are familiar with this kind of knowledge would successfully deal with practical problems at work.

Academic and theoretical study can also improve the problem-solving abilities of learners. University students need to collect information on different subjects to finish essays and reports, so they can gain experience in analyzing different unfamiliar information and solving the problems. When they enter the workplace, they would show confidence in doing research when problems arise, and come up with corresponding solutions. In contrast, those people who did not go to university may receive some practical training to deal with some normal tasks, but they may be helpless in the face of unusual problems.

Meanwhile, we should never ignore the significance of practical training for youth. There is no doubt that through the process of practical training, students would gain more hands-on experience which cannot be taught at classroom. For instance, young doctors have to work in hospitals for several years to complete a training program. In this period of time, they would gain a wealth of medical experience which cannot be learnt at university.

In conclusion, theoretical knowledge is of great importance as it would be beneficial to students’ growth and future career, as well as the practical training is necessary for youth.