Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skill needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While people’s preferences vary when it comes to the purpose of advanced education, I personally believe that both practical skills and theoretical knowledge share an equal importance.

On the one hand, advantages of preparing students for the workplace are obvious. Firstly, previous training of practical skills can simply ensure students’ quick adaptation in the workplaces. Since most students will end up in workplaces, it will undoubtedly benefit the majority both physically and mentally. Meanwhile, it also enhances students’ competitiveness in the job market, because companies nowadays tend to prefer applicants with some skills to prove their capabilities. This is especially true when it comes to certain domains such as accounting, where a qualified certificate is much more important than the scores one gains in the exams.

On the other hand, to cultivate greater contributors to the society, merely focusing on teaching useful skills are far less than enough. Theoretical knowledge, as the original aim of teaching, is also of vital importance. A solid foundation in professional knowledge will help a lot in one’s future promotion. More importantly, it helps to develop creativity and critical thinking through learning these theories, which may be more helpful than practical skills in a future career. Anyway, what the companies need are not working robots, but people who can really contribute ideas. Universities, however, should take the initial responsibility in preparing students to become excellent contributor to the society in this respect.

In conclusion, I am convinced that a real asset for the society should be inculcated with both useful skills and theoretical knowledge in the university.