Today, more and more parents depend on their children's grandparents for childcare. Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

Parenthood is important in children’s growth and development. However, we are living in a society where long working hours and heavy financial burdens are pushing parents to leave their kids under the custody of their grandparents. In my own perspective, I still believe that it is an advantage for grandparents to take a part in childcare.

Firstly, we have to admit the necessity of relying on the old generation for childcare. In most families, young parents are usually faced with heavy pressures from work, thus, it is unrealistic for them to take good care of a kid without any help. Quitting their job to be hands-on to their children is not practical in today’s society. With this, they also rely to their parents for their child’s safety and care.

More importantly, both grandchildren and grandparents will benefit from it. Young kids can be looked after carefully without extra costs. Meanwhile, retired people will realize more values and not to desolate themselves by taking care of kids. In addition, the society will also benefit from this, making the elderly, the parents and the youth united.

However, that is not to say we should underestimate the importance of parental care in bringing up a child. Admittedly, parents should also participate in their kids’ growth and inculcate them with the latest and mainstream value in the modern society. Nevertheless, regarding the fact that most of them still have to work, aid from the old generation is also necessary.

In summary, I am personally convinced that it is necessary and beneficial for grandparents to share the responsibility to the childcare of their grandchildren. Yet, parents’ function should never be replaced. In fact, only through the cooperation of both parents and grandparents we can ensure the youth’s memorable childhood as well as their bright tomorrow.