Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the cours

Certain people argue that university education should equip students with knowledge and skills required in the workplace. However, there are many who vocalize that the job of university is to provide education and not to prepare a graduate for an employer. In my context, I believe universities should focus on opening the minds of the students because bright minds are full of immense possibilities.

At present, it is distressing to see hundreds of fresh graduates step out of universities with optimism and enthusiasm- knocking on the doors of employers only to find out that they do not fit under the requirement criteria. Consequently, a number of youths have been depressed and lost their motivation. As such it is not unusual for the parents to demand that universities provide education that can be relied upon by their children in the real world.

However, on the other hand, universities are not built to train someone to be work ready. The basis of university education is to impart knowledge, and knowledge have no boundaries- it keeps expanding and transforming. Universities are there to guide you, but it cannot take your hand and lead you through the roads of life. It is on the hands of the student to embrace the knowledge and modify it to other forms that he/she might find useful to embark on one’s endeavor in life.

Hence, universities are bodies of knowledge that will show one the various paths that lay ahead, but to choose a definite path and to follow it with true belief depends entirely on the one who is destined to set on this journey.