Task 2: Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negativedevelopment?Give reasons for your answ

In the present context, the ways people communicate with others has been influenced greatly by the improvement in technology. In my view, this advancement in technology has rendered both positive and negative effects in personal aspects such as relationship.

The ways in which people communicate with others have changed from direct contact to virtual contact; for example, instead of meeting someone in person we meet people in our social applications like facebook, messenger, viber and whats app. It is, in a way, a good approach in maintaining long distance relationships with our families, friends and loved ones. This development in technology has helped us all save our precious time as we can talk to anyone anywhere in the world with just a click in our modern gadgets. We can choose to meet in person or through phone calls or simply email depending upon the circumstances.

Like a coin has its two faces, technology has also its drawbacks. For example, there are many people in the world that open fake accounts and lure innocent people into relationship fraud or con people on emotional grounds. We have heard of pedophiles exploiting children via internet, and there are many crimes committed simply because the other person on the other side of your mobile or communication device sounds genuine, understanding and more in love with you than the real people you are surrounded with. We often tend to live in our virtual world and ignore our real friends and families when it comes to our online acquaintances.

In conclusion, I would like to add there is no harm in embracing the graces of technology in developing new relationships or contacts, or even maintaining our existing contacts. However, we should always be alert about the wrong type of people with hideous intentions who can always sound appealing to us. If we can balance these two facets, we will not ever have to regret technology.