Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

At the present, there is an argument whether universities should teach their student with the knowledge and potential skills needed in the workplace or give access to the knowledge and services for their profit.

First of all, there are many benefits to going to university, because the graduates with a high degree can open the door to better employment prospects. Skilled workers are required sectors such as information technology or communication employed in the companies with good conditions. So universities play an important role in education, students will be taught knowledge-based and needed skills which are crucial for students to perform at work. Additionally, being supported these skills in universities will save time and money for both pupils and companies. For example, employees have enough soft skills and particular knowledge to work cleverly in industries without being trained again or any assistance, who will be found by recruiters in the job market. Thus, the managers except to spend their capital on training the new workers, they still want to choose the well-equipped candidates who may bring more profit for them. That’s why these graduates are able to get job opportunities easily more than the others.

On the other hand, it’s also believed that the function of a university should provide specific tasks and courses which are related their major. Of course, pupils may spend their own time on research deeply many studies which are a necessity for workers to be able to comply with every job requirement. Besides, after bachelor degree, the graduates can keep studying on higher level, such as master or professional degree which is one of result to be a teacher in universities or many schools. Furthermore, the employees have been mastered throughout their study in theories, they may recognize why they choose this major for learning and have a part-time job like a teacher.

In conclusion, not only the colleges should provide the pupils with knowledge and specific skills which makes them remarkable in the competitive recruitment, but the universities should also support understand and achieve their aspiration with the career that they want to be.