Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university.

It is argued by some that provision of specific skills necessary to work effectively is the function of higher institutions. Some, however, believe that tertiary institution should provide general knowledge, irrespective of its usefulness in the place of work. I think the focus of a university should be in inculcating students with knowledge that will be useful in their workplace, as this will have numerous benefits.

There are many functions a university provides in the society. However, I consider its primary duty is in equipping students with skills on how to be useful in their choice of career. This will have great benefits for all. First of all, it gives value to the time spent in school. If students graduate from school without the ability to apply what had been taught, it renders their period of schooling useless. Another advantage of school equipping students with applied knowledge is that, it gives job satisfaction. Employees are rewarded when their impact is felt in the workplace. Consequently, they get promoted with additional incentives. Therefore, they become more satisfied with the job and will desire to do more.

Furthermore, having the right knowledge to work will ultimately lead to increase in the standard of living. When skills are adequately deployed in the place of work, their products or services are patronized the more. As a result, more money will be available for workers, and the company may need to employ more people to help with their work.

In conclusion, although people have varying opinion on what a university should offer to students. I believe, inculcating the required knowledge necessary for work is their primary function.