Some people think university educations should prepare students for employment while others think it should help students acquire theoretical knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, what should be the main purpose of a university is an ongoing debate. Some people believe that universities should put more emphasis on academic knowledge, while others argue that universities should provide pupils with the knowledge and skills needed in workplace.

Universities are educational institutes. And the basic function of education is to help students to acquire basic knowledge and apply them to work effectively. It is not doubt that theoretical knowledge are not only essential, but the main foundation for any professional career. Students with established knowledge allows them to gain a professional insight. Moreover, when applying for a job position, most employers prefer to recruit people who have certain knowledge about the job they are applying.

On the other hand, competition at work has become really intense. More people are qualified for the same job, which has lead many graduates work as interns without a proper salary despite their many years of education. Therefore, universities should give their students full preparations for their future career choice in order to excel professionally. For instance, teach students how to get a job by giving them lessons on interview techniques, what makes a good resume, help them to understand how to operate once they have joined an organization and opportunities to work as trainees in an organization. Consequently, it also has advantages for universities. For example, graduates from a certain university that can better use their academic knowledge and skills are preferred by the employers. As a result, they will have preferences at recruiting new staffs from the same university.

In conclusion, I believe universities should fulfill both roles, by providing the necessary knowledge to their students and career-oriented skills, in order to make them more tenacious, confident and mature for the job-related challenges in the future.