Some people think that we should invent a new language for international communication. Do the benefits of this outweigh the problems?

It is argued that due to the dramatic increase in cultural exchange and international business trade, a global language should be created. While there are some good arguments in favor of not being necessary to have an international language, I strongly believe that it is more likely to bring some potential benefits.

First, it is obvious that if one language is dominant, others may vanish. There is no denying fact that English is being widely used as a global second language. For example, international business meetings are regularly held in English. By the same token, almost the most vital textbooks and journals are published in English. Therefore, the ability to speak English is a necessary skill for people from all walks of life to find high salary jobs. This can lead to reduce the variety of language, because of neglect on the value of studying first language.

Furthermore, American culture has become popular around the world, since a dominant language could bring its own culture. It definitely can make other cultural background and identities be damaged. For instance, the significant number of Vietnamese people has been chosen junk food for their meals instead of traditional food in recent years. From the equity theory perspective, as an alternative to English, a new international language which has no nationality or culture attached to it can demonstrate that there is no preference for any countries. For these reasons, in spite of the dramatic growth in globalization, an international language can help to promote international peace and understanding, and ensure to preserve cultural diversity. Esperanto is an example of a language that was invented with this aim.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the invention of second global language can demand the international communication without an adverse impact on any countries.