Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People hold an idea that travelers should immerse themselves in the local traditions wherever they visit. In my opinion, I disagree with this notion as the adaptation of other cultures is unnecessary for foreign tourists.

To begin with, there is no reason to adapt to a new custom or practice when travelers have no intention to reside in their traveling destination. Since people merely visit different places for a short amount of time, they surely do not have to turn into a local during this period. Unless people consider living in a place that they have traveled to, it is of futility to acculturate to a different custom. Take backpackers for example, is there any valid reason to adapt to one culture when they travel to multiple countries and experience a number of different lifestyles and return to their homeland afterward?

In addition, a mental problem may occur when travelers attempt to adapt to all of their destination’s cultures. If tourists got accustomed to each and every locals’ daily routines and ways of life when they are on a sightseeing trip, they could have been subject to a condition called ‘cultural disorder’ as they could no longer determine what lifestyle would be suitable for each location. This type of disorder has been introduced and seriously warned by scientists for those who are obsessed with multicultural travel. A report indicated that many Westerners have shown completely strange behaviors found in some minor ethnics’ lifestyles in Asian countries when they returned home after their trips.

In conclusion, I think that telling travelers to acculturate themselves to the local practices and customs is complete nonsense as new cultures are for learning and experiencing purposes only.