Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping
people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits
for the community and individuals?
It is true that volunteer work provides great benefits for both participants and the
community. However, forcing the youth to engage in those activities may be
counterproductive, as now will be explained.
On the one hand, if young people were required to do social jobs for free, there would be
certain advantages for all sides related. A vast majority of the younger population are
energetic, dynamic and passionate about improving themselves, and it is the unpaid work that can satisfy that demand. Charitable campaigns such as teaching primary
schoolchildren or helping the elderly with their daily activities provide the participants with
not only new knowledge and skills, but also a sense of community and a belief that they
are a pivotal part of societies. Vice versa, the government, with the assistance from young
people, has a productive workforce available for charity work without wasting money on
the recruitment process.
On the other hand, I believe that the disadvantages of this are more important. Working on
a volunteer basis may distract young people from their priorities. For example, students of
state universities and colleges are expected to attend lessons, complete homework and even
consult external academic materials. With such a heavy workload, those students should
spend their little remaining time relaxing or playing sports rather than joining free social
activities. Regarding those who do not go to school, vocational or internship courses are
what they should seek for. Professional skills from such classes are tools for these
individuals to achieve a stable later life; therefore, the community should allow them to
pursue their career.
In conclusion, the youth can choose to support others, and the volunteer work should never
be made obligatory.