Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

I strongly believe that plenty of young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people who need help such as homeless people, poor people, orphans and so on in the community. Personally, I think advantages be greater than disadvantages to the community and even teenagers.

Firstly, when participating in charity activities, it will be very expensive and time consuming. Besides, most young adults will be affected in terms of study time because these volunteer activities usually take about 1 to 2 days. Moreover, some sponsors can take advantage of volunteer work to make large amounts of money. For example, before the Covid-19 pandemic some celebrities engaged in humanitarian campaigns to earn money. However, they were criticized by netizens.

Secondly, besides the insignificant disadvantages, the benefits be greater than the drawbacks. Charity work is very meaningful and it likewise helps me become a better person. Furthermore, when we do charity work such as helping to distribute charity rice to the poor, building a charitable house for the poor, or establish a humanitarian education program for orphans, we will feel joyful or happy because we have helped other people's lives become better by doing small things. However, if you can't afford it, you can also donate old books, clothes, pens and so on. On top of that, we also can learn some life skills such as knowing how to make friends, knowing how to take care of others, or even cooking. Besides that, we can also learn some useful skills, get more knowledge and cultures from members of the charity organization. Charity work is also a way for us to get to know and explore remote areas.

In conclusion, charity work has many benefits. To raise awareness about the difficult circumstances of poor people, teenagers should volunteer more.