Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some people that zoos should be completely shut down because it is vicious to keep animals inside a cage. Contrasting to that, others believe that zoos are functional to conserve endangered animals. There are different views regarding this discourse which I will elaborate below before giving my opinion.

Supporters of zoos think that zoos could contribute as a sanctuary for endangered animals which could protect them from any threats. It is because animals’s welfare could be carefully monitored by experts. For example, pandas arewere endangered animals with low rates of breeding, but zoos in China provide solutions for this issue such as assisting them in its reproduction process. As a result, zoos could increase the number of rare animals In contrast, supporters of zoo abolishment argue that zoos should stop operating as they mainly exhibit animals for human’s entertainment purposes. To illustrate, zoos often have an animal petting section where tourists could take commemorative pictures while holding and feeding the animals. As a result, slowly these animals will lose their wild instinct due to frequent interaction with humans. In addition, by having physical interaction with humans, animals might pose dangers to humans by transmitting some kind of diseases or attacking the tourists.

To sum up, In my opinion, animals should not be caged in an artificial habitat environment, instead we should encourage a policy that supports these animals to be able to live in their natural habitat. This is as long as they could still be monitored by rangers to protect them from poaching and many other harmful factors