Some people think they have the right to use as much freshwater as they want. Others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is a limited resource. Discuss both views and give your option.

Non-saline water usage is now being debated by many people, some believe that governments should reinforce limitations pertaining to this since it is a finite source. But others disagree while believing they have the right to leverage it. This essay will explore two different points of view regarding this topic before stating a stance concerning it.

For starters, supporters of unlimited water usage debated that water is a basic need as it is being used every day for drinking and bathing. The quantity of water usage in a family could differ depending on the needs of each family member and situation. For instance, a large family that lives within the hot region might consume more than 30 liters of potable water per month for bathing and drinking because if they were to consume less water than that, they might experience dehydration. Therefore, limiting water consumption might be seen as inhumane. In addition, most people pay for their water consumption thus giving them the rights to utilize it according to their needs.

On the contrary, proponents of limited water usage emphasize that sustainability factors should be prioritized. While it is true that clean water is a basic human need, it doesn’t mean that resource exploitation should be allowed. It is because if clean water were to be exploited, it could lead to scarcity. This is why the government should take preventive action by managing the fresh waters. By letting the government regulate it, basic needs of water could be met while tertiary usage could be reduced. For example, the government could supply more water for the essential needs such as irrigation, drinking water and bathing while cutting down supply for extravagant purposes such as private pools and jacuzzis.

To sum up, in my opinion both of the arguments are valid but limiting clean water usage would be wiser to prevent the possibility of water shortage. This is as long as the government could do a proper job to fulfill societal needs for clean water.