Some people want academic subjects such as history and physics to be taught at secondary school. Others want practical skills such as mechanical and gardening to be taught. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are some different views about what should be included in the high-school curriculum. This raises the question of whether academic subjects including history and physics should be taught or practical skills like mechanical or gardening. From my point of view both of them are beneficial and essential for pupils.

Some people argue that it is necessary for children to learn academic subjects at secondary school. For those who tend to earn a degree from university, having an appropriate background knowledge in academic subjects are required. Physics, for instance, is one of the core subjects that should be taught to everyone at high-school if they want to take a degree in engineering majors like mechanical engineering, civil engineering , and so on. Moreover, there are some other subjects which offer them a wide perspective view about what happened in the past to the nations, governments and cultures.

However, beside the ideas mentioned above, others have different points of view. They believe that academic subjects can be taught to one who want continue their studies, at universities rather than schools. As most children take a gap year after ending up their high-school, practical skills like mechanical and gardening can be much more imperative for them.Furthermore, practical knowledge can bring them a lot of job opportunities in future, since some professions like gardening and landscaping need more practical skills than theoretical knowledge.

To sum up, in my opinion both academic subjects and practical skills should be taught to children with a reasonable

balance, because they need both of them for a successful future.