Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that crime rates have dramatically increased over the last few years. And education is of paramount importance to alleviate this trend, but the way it can be conducted is often a subject of debate in society. Some people argue that allowing ex-prisoners to speak to teenagers is an effective method to discourage them from breaking the laws. While this may work to a certain extent, I would argue that there are better alternatives to this problem.

It is understandable why some people approve of the idea that ex-prisoners should talk to teenagers about the dire consequences of committing crimes. The key rationale in favour of this view is that teenagers are more likely to accept advice and arouse a lot of interest from someone who speaks from experience because their life stories are vivid and persuasive. These ex-criminals perfectly exemplifies individuals who have to pay for their unlawful activities, which can raise awareness about how to become law-abiding citizens among young people. However, former convicts can appear intimidating and frighten their audience, and they may fail to convey the message subsequently. This is obviously the case that when letting former prisoners talk to teenagers may be counter-productive.

On the other hand, there are more viable alternatives which could be considered to help younger citizens deepen their knowledge about the crime. For instance, policemen should be assigned to school to give talks about the repercussion of crime for students. They are knowledgeable about this topic because of having witnessed the hardships that many prisoners have to go through, but their appearance would not alarm young people. In addition, schools would also set up an extracurricular activity to visit some correctional facilities. Therefore, students could observe by themselves the harsh life in prison and be aware of the consequences of committing a crime.

In conclusion, a talk given by ex-offenders is not the best educational method for student and there still exists some influential way to raise awareness about the dangers of crime.