Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that having these people give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about dangers of committing a crime. Do you agree or disagree?

There are many ways to teach legal education to students, one of them is letting students hear sharings from reformed offenders. I am convinced that it is far from being the best method and there are many better ways to enhance their awareness of compliance with law.

There are several reasons why inviting ex-prisoners who have turned their lives around to school to talk to school children is not the optimum way. Compared to ex-convicts, it is their victims who can get listeners’ compassion more easily. There is nothing more convincing than their stories of suffering in the aftermath of the horror of falling prey to a crime to be able to jolt children’s conscience. Once they empathize with what the victims had to go through or even they are haunted by these experiences, this will deter them from breaking the law. Another significant reason is that medium, especially mass media, are doing very well the mission to charm the young audiences. Remember that not all ex-convicts are used to the stage, therefore they could lack charisma and suffer stage fright, which make their speech difficult to resonate deeply with audiences. Meanwhile, mass media, with its experiences in providing professional media products for people of all ages and its wide coverage, is capable of organizing legal education programs gaining popularity from the young as well as transmitting a necessary amount of knowledge. The last but most important reason is the fact that talk shows or programs, as mentioned previously, are not vital factors because a successful personality development of children requires the close supervision of parents the most. More than anyone else, parents are the ones who have the longest time spent on their children. As a result, they can recognize any minute bad minds of their children, help them to deal with these issues as soon as possible and the continuity of this process is the thing that no other methods possesses.

To conclude, I firmly believe that inviting ex-prisoners who have become good citizens after imprisonment to speak to youngsters about their experiences is not the best solution, as there are better ways, such as hearing the stories of victims of crime, taking advantage of the powerful impact of medium and the close supervision of parents.