Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerable.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the most common arguments held by the masses is whether or not to increase the retirement age considerably while the average life expectancy of citizens is increasing. Personally, I disagree entirely with this view and believe that there are no reason to raise the age of retirement. The reasons for my position are as follows.

First of all, rising retirement ages mean that humans will continue working for a longer time, and it is undeniable that this will have various noxious consequences on human mental health. Working, therefore, is one of the predominant factors in many pathologies at retirement age. It is rather clear to some extent, this may result in heart-related disease, and memory disorders like Alzheimer’s which pose a menace to organizations or enterprises. People may no longer have enough physical strength to retain acceptable working performance.

There are compelling arguments that raising the retirement age has a negative impact on the quality of the labor force. Under certain assumptions, this can be interpreted as limiting workplace innovation and creativity because working opportunities for the younger generation, who are supposed to be a source of creativity and a dynamic workforce, are narrowed. For example, while people just work for 40-45 years before retiring at the age of 60 or 65, if we increase the retirement age to 70, it leads to the consequence that their subordinates have to wait another 5 years to get promoted and give up the position to younger executives.

As already discussed in the above essay, I strongly believe that people should not raise the retirement age significantly due tothe negative consequences it might have on human wholeness, organizations, and the workforce. I, therefore, firmly the age of retirement should not be changed, regardless of age-induced raise.