Some scientists believe that in the future computers will be more intelligent than human beings. While some see this as a positive development, others worry about the negative consequences.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

You should write at least 250 words.

In this technology-driven era, it is opined that computers will outsmart humanity in the foreseeable future. This has led to a divergence of opinions on whether this practice will pose a threat or render merits to human beings. From my perspective, both points of view are grounded to a certain extent.

On the one hand, the superiority in intelligence of computers can bring about a plethora of benefits to humans, chief among which is better utilization of available resources. Expanding on this point, carefully calculated algorithms and complex mechanisms enable computers to do tasks with paramount accuracy and efficiency. Therefore, such invention can take responsibility for mundane tasks that require high precision and time. This allows humans to contribute more money and efforts to sophisticated duties which are based on moral grounds as well as creativity. Another worth-mentioning advantage is the advent of unprecedented breakthroughs. Unlike humans’ brains, computers are not confined to any constraint, including age, memory capacity or information processing speed. Accordingly, given its advanced intelligence and virtually boundless ability, AI is likely to create groundbreaking inventions that will possibly solve a profusion of problems of humanity.

On the flip side of the coin, there are also compelling reasons to argue that exceedingly intelligent computers can imperil society. The key catalyst is an increased rate of unemployment. Greater intelligence in computers can lead to the extension of their capabilities, concomitantly resulting in reduced employability of the human workforce. To exemplify, programmers may experience redundancy on a large scale due to AI’s ability to produce accurate solutions in seconds. Furthermore, without proper guidance and sufficient information, computers may put people’s lives in jeopardy. As such technology lacks emotions, it may do whatever it takes to complete its given objective, even manipulating humans or viewing them as hostiles if needed. Hence, a dystopia in which mankind is enslaved by a highly intelligent AI is rather possible.

To recapitulate, the future when computers are smarter than humans can be a double-edged sword by virtue of the above-mentioned pros and cons. Nevertheless, I still hold my ground that the negative impacts will outshadow the positive ones.