In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree and disagree ?

Excessive consumption of fast food has been considered a catalyst for myriad ailments in humans, despite the reputation of such food in the catering industry. Hence, numerous individuals are of the opinion that heavier taxation should be levied on this service. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with this viewpoint.

First and foremost, customers are likely to be discouraged from consuming fast food. Expanding on this point, higher tax is tantamount to higher charges on fast food companies, which results in significant increases in their products. Accordingly, people are under an obligation to sacrifice other essential purchases, like books or pills, just for some temporary pleasure. Such practice will possibly make almost everyone think twice before buying any fast food product. Therefore, a subsequent decrease in fast food consumption is virtually inevitable, concomitantly leading to an improvement in people’s well-being.

To add further credence to my assertion, the imposition of hefty tax can force fast food establishments to narrow the number of items in their menus. In the wake of the increased tax, companies may have no choice but to cut costs, which may include the purchases of materials. This can bring about a lack of ingredients in restaurants, forcing them to greatly scale down the menu. Consequently, if some iconic dishes are removed, people may opt for healthier food choices, including vegetables and fruits.

Nevertheless, the government should also consider other approaches rather than solely imposing tax. Chief among these is raising citizens’ awareness. By organising campaigns on various platforms or incorporating into children’s daily lessons, the authorities can not only educate people about the demerits of fast food, but also incentivize them to follow a healthier lifestyle. Secondly, should the opening and closing time of fast-food chains be confined to specific hours, individuals’ fast food intake can be substantially limited.

To recapitulate, there are a plethora of reasons why fast food should be heavily taxed. However, it is imperative that along with taxation, other viable solutions should still be taken into consideration.