Some scientists believe that intelligent life forms may exist on other planets and some want to send messages to contact them. Others think it is a bad idea because these life forms may be too dangerous. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The idea of communicating with extra-terrestrial life has been more than a topic of sci-fiction but an ongoing practice with advances in technology. While contacting life forms from other worlds is seemingly appealing, it actually poses more threats than we are capable to cope with.

One of the most compelling arguments in favor of making aliens know about us is the potential for scientific discovery and breakthrough. If we were to contact with another intelligent species, it could open up entirely new fields of inquiry into topics such as biology, astronomy or physics. Moreover, other civilizations may have developed higher technique that are far beyond our own, which could help us solve various pressing issues facing mankind, including climate change and resource depletion. In other words, we could become the beneficiary as the operators by better understanding our planet within it and the whole universe.

However, there are definitely significant challenges in such attempt. It is likely that the expected aid turns out to be an unknown infection, plaguing our environment and even existence. History has shown that civilizations have unequal ranks, and this inequality often leads to the collapse of lower civilizations by upper ones. Additionally, an introduction of extra-terrestrial life runs the risk of disrupting our own natural settings and resources. If they were hostile, they would have competed with us for scarce energy, water, fossil fuels and others. Unfortunately, according to Darwinism, the survival of the fittest, we are more likely to be the loser.

In conclusion, the possibility of contacting other intelligent species generates more questions than benefits, as it is naive and reckless to expect someone we know nothing about to be benevolent by helping us out from scientific bottlenecks and survival crises.