Some students prefer to take a gap year and between high school university to work or to travel Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In this modern society, students are exposed to myriads of opportunities in their further education. Some of them have a preference for taking a gap year after graduation from high school either for working purposes or traveling hither and thither. This essay will discuss whether the merits can overshadow the demerits.

It is apparent that university is not the mere route to success when there are a plethora of other paths including taking a year off after high school. As a matter of fact, seeking jobs to gain work experience is proved to be conducive to one's career rather than assimilating mundane theoretical knowledge at university, which is virtually inapplicable in real life. Besides, soft skills play a crucial part in the development of students in a long run. However, this set of skills requires a working environment to hone. Therefore, if students aspire to become competent workers with not only a colossal amount of working experience but also enhanced social skills, taking a gap year will be an indeed wise option.

Nevertheless, a year off without acquiring university fundamental knowledge of multiple realms may cause an escalating number of problems to arise in a student's future career. It is irrefutable that these theories at university set a firm foundation for their growth. Students would find it harder for them to proceed with their educational path if they spent an entire year working continuously with a view to attaining experience at work. Hence, being incapable of comprehending abstruse lectures at university is bound to be inevitable.

In a nutshell, the benefits of taking a gap year after high school do outstrip the drawbacks. Students should take all factors into account before reaching the final decision to take it.