The use of social media is replacing face to face interaction among many people in society Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

As technology has been advancing in leaps and bounds, social media has become more prevalent in human life. It is claimed that social media is substituting direct interaction among people. From my personal viewpoint, the merits of this overshadow the drawbacks.

It is apparent that multiple social networking sites yield a plethora of perks. In the past, when people arranged a meeting with others, it was mandatory for them to hire a building floor or simply reserve a dining table at a luxurious restaurant. However, today, people can interact with each other merely via the screen. Not only is this method convenient for the users but it also saves a colossal amount of money that would be expended on gathering sites. In addition, dressing up neatly and gracefully to attend a formal meeting is obviously ubiquitous. Nevertheless, with the advent of social media platforms, courteous garments are no longer requisite. Instead, the optimal choice would tend to be donning a comfortable set of pajamas and merely revealing their faces on the screen for interaction with others.

Notwithstanding its benefits, the shift in people's perennial habit of communicating is placed parallel to a slight risk of separating them from their real life. Apparently, the principal reason for human interaction is to feel the existence of other human beings through all senses. Therefore, chatting through the emotionless screen may only enhance their visual and auditory sense while hindering their olfactory sense. Getting accustomed to virtual conversations, people's awareness of their concrete existence might be fading and even culminate in their oblivion of the real world.

In a nutshell, albeit the tremendous demerits of social media superseding in-person interaction, the advantages still outstrip them.