Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or to travel Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage

The tight and busy schedule is the chief reason why students nowadays feel under pressure, and many of them decide to spend a year off in order to recover. There are various merits that a gap year brings to learners, but the drawbacks it includes is more than the benefits.

On one side, people frequently mention about gap year as a rewarding way to improve themselves due to these reasons. Firstly, this allows students to have time for relaxation, which they hardly ever have during their school time. In this period of time scholars may take on different activities that vary according to their hobbies; Moreover, they can also learn a novel skill that is beneficial to them. The purpose of this is to train themselves so that when they return to their work, they will be more superior than others and have well-paid job. Secondly, graduates are able to reset and shape their goals for an effective working in the following year. They can pay a visit around the world or in their countries to take photos of spectacular sceneries, or they can broaden their knowledge by exposing to a new culture.

On the other side, a gap year might hinder human development in some ways. Initially, such a year of doing nothing is detrimental to students who have no motivation to work and become inattentive. They can not catch up with their peers since not all of the citizens in the world have strong self-discipline, so it will be struggle for them to accomplish. Next, if learners want to have a gap year, they should ensure that they have no financial issue so that they can be afford for a year. This is the explanation for why some of the students who are not well-off cannot have a gap year, as they have to work for their living. Family background is also essential, for this will decide whether scholars have an effective gap year or not. Some parents do not support their children, and this cause a disagreement between them. Another problem of gap year is stress, which occurs when students see others working hard and earn money but they do nothing.

In conclusion, it is advantageous for students to take a gap year if they are able to pay for their living. However, the positive aspects of the trend mentioned above is outweighed by the negative ones.