Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or to travel Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage

The tight schedule and fast pace of life are the chief reasons why many graduates nowadays decide to take a year off, for they have time to apply for a job or to pay a visit to somewhere. From my perspective, this brings various merits such as self relaxation; However, the drawbacks brought from this prevail the positive aspects.

On one hand, taking off for one year is considered as a rewarding way to improve one's self since this allows learners to settle down themselves and prepare for an effective year. Firstly, a gap year is enough for high school graduates to wind down by taking on loads of activities such as playing sports, learning a new skill, and accomplishing their passions, which they have no time to do when they were in high school. Such these things do really help pupils to improve their fitness levels and feel delighted thanks to the dopamine produced while exercising. As a result, they receive a great source of energy to continue their career and ready to adapt to obstacles. Secondly, a period of off time can be beneficial to people's future goals which are usually struggle to purchase. An off year allocates learners time to expose to new skills that are advantageous for their later jobs, hence getting well-paid occupations. With the knowledge and skills trained before, they easily bring their talents to the employers notice, for they can meet all the standards of the jobs.

On the other hand, a breaktime between high school and university can be detrimental to individuals on account of a variety of reasons. The first explanation for this is the negative effects on student's academic results when they find it hard to catch up with the pace of life. Due to a year of not going to school, they hardly can grasp all the knowledge that their peers learn, and peer pressure also stems from this. Next is family background, which has a great impact on whether graduates should take a gap year or not. If one's family is not well- off, it is unfeasible for him to be off for one year since he has to work to earn his living. Last but not least is the slow pace of life that leads to the loss of momentum when people return their daily life. Self discipline is the key impact of a successful life and it is hard to train, so people's life will be unbalanced if they have no motivation to work. Being under pressure of time and seeing others surpassing may make students disappointed about themselves and lack of confidence.

In conclusion, despite the benefits such as self improvement and goal shaping mentioned above, I suppose that taking a year off can result in more unexpected effects than that of positive ones. This type of healing is appropriate depends on the economic situation of each family in different nations and varies according to the needs of individuals, so graduates should contemplate carefully before coming into a decision.