Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advent of the Internet, there has been an increase in the number of online courses posted by some academic institutions. A plethora of benefits can be reaped from such an advancement. In this essay, I shall give two reasons to underpin my viewpoint.

To begin with, changing the conventional teaching methods to online self-learning ones can offer plenty of academic opportunities for students to study. Since the lessons are available on the Internet, more students around the globe can get access to the courses. This might help those who cannot afford the tuition fees and living standards to study abroad and attend physical classes. For example, Harvard has various online courses, and international students can acquire those valuable and free lessons without going to the US and attending Harvard to study.

Secondly, online courses mean that the lessons usually are on the Internet, this could help students more flexible in their studying process. In other words, students might watch and take lessons when and wherever they want. This would help those who have a part-time job to devote the necessary attention to neither working nor studying. What is more, students can re-learn the lessons as many times as they want to grasp the knowledge profoundly.

In conclusion, the new method of providing online courses should be implemented at more universities as it has two positive impacts mentioned above.