Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

The omnipresence of technology has led many people to question the wholesomeness of internet-based learning. While I concur that e-learning is highly beneficial, I also believe that it brings in its wake several drawbacks

On the one hand, there are compelling reasons why e-learning brings considerable benefits. The first point worth noticing is that it may offer students a great degree of flexibility. An explanation for this is with online learning, students can acquire knowledge whenever and wherever they want. This especially does mature students a world of good, who have other commitments such as work and children. Another point endorsing this view is that online courses can partly relieve the financial burden for parents and themselves. To be more specific, learners do not have to bear the cost of astronomical tuition fees or set texts, and this money could be better spent on enrolling on some crash courses like what Harvard University has been offered on the online platform “Coursera” to sharpen students’ skills.

On the other hand, I am inclined to the belief that internet-based learning may have an adverse impact on students. The first point supporting this view is that online learning may lead to limited social interaction. This is because students may not have the opportunity to engage in face to face interaction with both teachers and their peers, and instead they have to rely on written forms of communication. In the long run, chances are high that they will suffer from poor critical thinking skills, as well as teamwork skills. Besides, it requires a high level of self-discipline. As students can study at their discretion, they tend to poorly allot appropriate time to complete assignments. As a consequence, those who lack motivation and self

-control may create an inefficient study habit, which is detrimental to their academic achievement.

In conclusion, it seems to me that we can reap a multitude of benefits in terms of flexibility and cost, but it also takes a toll on our study efficiency and social interaction.