There is an undeniable truth that people have the right to pursue what they desire. Many students are interested in additional subjects at university apart from the mandatory ones. However, others suggest it is crucial to concentrate their time and effort on a specific degree. In my view, both ideas have persuaded me for some reasons.

On the one hand, students who care about the so-called optional subjects are likely to be more well-rounded, which means they are not experts in a specific field but grasp a broad spectrum of knowledge. For instance, university students interested in PE classes, English classes, or some extracurricular activities will acquire optimal physical fitness as well as soft skills such as being bilingual or having time and financial management skills. Hence, they not only study their professions at university but also possess a state of well-being both physically and mentally, which may attract the attention of employers.

On the other hand, the number of people who focus on a specific area of study has the highest proportion of achieving excellence in their field. Since their ultimate goal is to achieve a good qualification that proves they are experts, they may not be specialists in dealing with problems outside their reach. Hence, employers find they are ideally suited for a specific role in an organization. For example, many students nowadays spend all of their time studying to achieve a desired degree and end up acquiring excellent professional skills and knowledge; however, they do not learn any soft skills such as foreign languages or social skills. As a result, their positions may remain fixed for the rest of their careers because they lack the soft skills that make people different from others.

In conclusion, both approaches have pros and cons. Being average in all aspects contributes to a more well-rounded individual, and these people have the potential to become good managers or CEOs. Having said that, being an expert in a specific field allows people to become excellent workers. I strongly agree that both types of people maintain a well-balanced society and advance civilization.