Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Many university students believe that it is advantageous to learn about other subjects besides their main majors, whereas others argue that it would be better to devote time and attention solely to one qualification. Both views have their own merits, hence it is the aim of this essay to discuss both sides before presenting my opinion.

On the one hand, many students should only give all their time and concentration to studying for a qualification. In other words, many difficult and technical majors, such as engineers and doctors, require a vast amount of attention and time for doing research and studying. Indeed, students of these majors hardly have time to enroll for other subjects. In addition, many universities do not allow their students to study more than one qualification so as to achieve the best results. Hanoi Medical University serves as a perfect example. The principal of this school once said that studying Medicine requires great effort and time, so students do not have permission to apply for more qualifications.

On the other hand, it would be beneficial for some university students to spend time studying other subjects apart from their core subjects. Firstly, students who study more than one qualification have more career prospects compared to those who do not. Take Business Administration students as an illustration. Students studying this field are encouraged to study other subjects, for example, Marketing and Finance so as to get a better job when they graduate from university. Secondly, studying more than one subject is a great opportunity for students to discover new interests, therefore, gaining new insights into their lives.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed, it is advisable for students to spend all their time studying their main subjects; however, the opposite side should not be ignored. From my perspective, the best approach is to study only one subject due to the fact that the greatest achievement needs tremendous time and effort to gain.