Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a “gap year”; before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today concerns whether young people take a gap year as an opportunity to travel and expand their horizons before starting work or school. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter.

On one side of the argument, some people argue that the benefits of spending one year travelling considerably outweigh its disadvantage. The main reason for believing this is that young people can break the limit of themself, experience new things that provide them with valuable new skills because a gap year has the potential to teach them much more valuable lessons than a school setting ever can. One good illustration of this is many universities report that students who take a gap year return to school with a better maturity mindset and better creativity. It is also possible to say that students can take time out of school and further studies during this time that can help them feel reenergized and prepare ready to tackle their classes and work. Since it is much harder to get the chance to take such much-needed time for themself when they enter their career.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that taking a year to travel is an expensive waste of time. People often have this opinion because they think that students will be one year behind their friends when their knowledge in school may have diminished that making it harder for them to keep up with the pace in studying. And the same goes for people who work when they could miss out an important early start in their career. A second point is that gap year requires a ton of extra planning. A particular example here is if you want to be a volunteer, you have to decide where you want to go, for how long, how will you deal with the language barrier and will you fit into the culture there?

In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that spending time for the gap year is reasonable. This is because I believe the gap year process is effective or not depending on how you experience it and use your time wisely.