Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a gap year, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Many young citizens in the modern society are now opt for a gap year before getting serious with any business or continuing pursuit higher academic. It is true that within this one-year people could learn various thing and precious experiences. However, other believes this trend is costly and it is not worthy to invest time into. Personally, I incline to the former opinion because this trend could provide people essential skills and knowledge in life.

This is trend gives travelers chances to learn foreign languages as well as befriend with people from different cultures. As they have to stay and use languages, which is not mother tongue, on daily basis, this could improve the learning process much faster. In addition, making friends at the base country also help create a wide social net which might be useful for later business. For example, if the person taking a gap year end up being a businessman, these new international relationships could be beneficial in his or her career path. However, as well as the flight and accommodation fee, the cost spent on basis need are also extremely expensive if people do not have a stable income.

another reason why gap year is popular is because travel broaden one’s mind. By exposing to different cultures, the travelers could enrich their knowledge, while at the same time reflect the differences between the home country and other. This provides numerous opportunities to contemplate and recognize personal interest, dreams or goals and so on, especially when the young generation usually uncertain about their future. However, to those who already decide what career to follow, this is deemed as time wasting. A doctor degree normally takes up to six or eight years to achieved, which is a long time, thus the idea of taking a gap year might be unnecessary.

In conclusion, whilst it could be costly and time consuming, the merits of this idea is significant. Therefore, I highly recommend young people taking one year break if it is possible to them.