Someone believes that a tax-payer has done his part as a citizen. However, someone believes that a citizen should assume other responsibilities. Discuss both views and present your opinion.

As a citizen, some people think that being a tax-payer is good enough, but I believe that in order to being a good citizen, paying tax is only the fundamental requirement and need more than that.

People who feel that a tax-payer is good enough to be a citizen meets their basic needs. They have access to local infrastructure, free education and essential services, so they think they should at least pay the tax to the government for those services. That leads a pleasure life and make people happy.

On the other hand, some people would put more attention on their moral development in order to be a good citizen, Many people choose to do volunteer works on weekends even they have a full-time and high salary work during work days, they already pay high income tax however the reason why they choose to do that is making contribution to the society can promote social progress, and by doing that gives them a fulfilling life and a sense of belonging.

In my opinion, one important function of tax is to give government opportunities to improve their service to satisfy citizen, once that achieves, people would realize that their tax is in good hands and become more willing to pay tax. The government actually give back the achievements to the tax-payer. It reminds citizens, because of their tax, all citizens can live better. Another important factor is people with high moral standards think only paying money is not enough, it has to be more than that. In the other word, once the physical needs were satisfied, the moral needs had to be followed. Therefore people should not only pay tax, but also make contribution to the society to meet the standard of a good citizen.