In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Today, hunger is a controversial issue. There seems to be two main causes and a number of solution which we will be discuss here.

Regarding the roots of the problem, perhaps the major contributing factor to the issue is low income of individuals. People with low earnings can not afford to provide themselves with adequate amount of food. This is a clear link which can be observed in less affluent countries where the number of people suffering from hunger is greater than that for developed countries. Furthermore, climatic changes have also contributed to this problem. It goes without saying that these have led to warmer seasons and lower precipitation all around the world. Consequently, regardless of technological progress, food production has been faced with more severe obstacles which have resulted in less agricultural yield. Therefore, the accessibility of food has reduced, leading to hunger.

Turning to the possible solutions, governments should perhaps consider performing initiatives to boost their economies. That way, the average income would increase, meaning that more individuals would be able to buy sufficient amount of food. In addition, although taking measures to lessen global warming would appear to be necessary, since a global census seems to be awkward to be achieved in near future, agricultural adaption would seem to be more efficient. In other words, governments should perhaps invest in introducing genetically modified crops which are tolerant of hot weather and require less water. As a consequence, food production would be facilitated and become more economical.

To sum up, it would appear that hunger may largely stem from economic matters and global warming. Possibly, stimulating economic growth and adapting agricultural crops to the new conditions of today world, would help humanity to overcome hunger.