Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

What is the main objective of a government has been a debatable issue. It is believed that developing a country economically is the most important one while others disagree with it claiming that there are advances which are of equal importance. There are many argument supporting these views.

On the one hand those who support economic development refer to numerous advantages of the progress. Perhaps, the major benefit is the increase in average income of citizens which means that they will be able to consume more products or services. This will eventually lead to improving their living standards. Moreover, the government will have adequate budget to invest more in scientific and technological initiatives, for example discovering cures for cancer, which in turn, will result in the enhancement of life quality of people. In fact, when an economy progresses, unemployment rate declines meaning that the number of taxpayers rises. Therefore, the government's income grows enabling it to invest further in research programs.

On the other hand, critics of prioritizing economic aims argue that it is equally imperative that every government aim to progress in human rights enforcement. Firstly, to protect justice, they had better consider eradicating official corruption. Since in an officially corrupted economy, richer citizens can benefit unfairly from public services and plans through, for instance, bribery, justice will be damaged. Furthermore, providing individuals with the chance to flourish their capabilities is an objective that should be fulfilled by governments. In other words, promoting and developing educational systems means that more people will have access to education and more talents will be discovered and flourish. Consequently, this promotion tends to assist the community to progress more.

To sum up, I would tend to side with the opponents of the idea of economic progress. It is unreasonable to prioritize economic goals to human rights development such as defending justice and promoting education.