Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

What is the purpose of learning a foreign language is a debatable issue. It is believed that a new language is only required for working or travelling abroad while others disagree with it claiming that there are reasons for it. There are many arguments supporting these views.

On the one hand, supporters of the idea of learning a language for work or travel argue that if a foreign language is not used frequently, it will be forgotten. In other words, those are the only situations in which an individual has to use the language every day. Furthermore, proponent of the idea believe that technological advances have rendered learning a foreign language for occasional applications obsolete. For example, free online translation websites have eradicated the need for knowing a second language for occasional usage. Therefore, it seems unreasonable to learn a foreign language except for working or travelling abroad.

On the other hand, those who oppose the idea point to the considerable advantages of learning a new language. Firstly, language learners can benefit medically from language learning. It has scientifically proven that bilingualism or multilingualism can stave off dementia. Moreover, learning a language means getting acquainted with a new culture. This broaden the learners' horizons and give them insights into how others see the world which eventually lead them to having better prospective for their lives. Consequently, the more an individual learn a foreign language, the more they can benefit from their lives.

To sum up, it would appear that since knowing a foreign language can impact our lives profoundly, working or travelling abroad are not necessarily the only reasons for an individual to learn a language.