Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that oral communication is more effective than written ones. In my opinion, each type of communication is important depending on certain circumstances.

On the one hand, spoken words play a vital role in situations that demand body language and facial expression. Dating is an excellent example of this. For instance, emotion icons, photos, or videos can not replace a real smile and different feelings in a face to face date. Direct meetings will increase understanding between people which may help us guess the true feelings of them due to their actions and expressions. Therefore, when it comes to situations that need love and emotions, oral communication becomes much more powerful than written messages through the screen.

On the other hand, in terms of law and business, written words are especially essential which shows the professionalism of the authorities or organizations. For example, in court, words may count for nothing if there is no valid evidence such as written documents to support our arguments. In addition, in business, sending emails regarding promotions and sales to targeted customers are more convenient and faster than to meet and talk with each person. Furthermore, it represents a highly professional working style because not all customers want to have a meet with a salesperson.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that oral communication becomes more effective when we need to use our gestures and show our emotions to other people, particularly lovers, friends, or family members. While written one is preferable in court and business.