Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Many people, and children in particular, enjoy playing computer games. While I accept that these games can sometimes have a positive effect on the user, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact.

On the one hand, video games are a piece of wonderful equipment which helps users kick back and escape all the hardship from the real world. Video games take players to a virtual world with exciting missions or engaging targets and make them become the main character in a fantasy world. Not just boost the gamer's imagination and creativity, video games also offer them a real experience based on life. For instance, simulation games may improve motor or fighting skills, furthermore, players might know how to operate a tool they have never use like archery or even a gun.

However, video games can be addictive which makes users drown in the virtual world. They are engaged by the temptation from the missions or the rewards after completing targets. Every day, they sacrificed their time for hours of gaming and console, leading to poor results at school or at work. Not to mention, video games may harm their real-life relationships or they may find it is difficult to communicate with other people. Especially, both their mental and physical health is seriously affected if they play too frequently, leading to mental disorders, obesity, or even death. To illustrate, a young man in Vietnam found dead at home after three days of playing video games constantly.

In conclusion, video games can serve as a helpful educational and entertaining tool if people use it reasonably. Otherwise, it can have detrimental effects on the users' life.