Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Communication is considered to be essential and has several vast impacts on our lives. Though there are some controversial opinions about the different levels of influence between spoken channel and written one, I firmly claim that both of them could bring the same amount of positive effects for us.

On the one hand, speaking is a vital key of conversation in some specific situations of society. When we exchange information by talking, many elements could be included deliberately to make our speech become more sweeping such as gestures, facial expressions and tone of voice. For instance, teachers tend to use body language along with various pitches and show appropriate attitudes in order to deliver their lectures to students effectively. As students would pay more attention to the lecturers’ words and engage in the lessons, their academic performance could be significantly enhanced, simultaneously, they might have a good rapport with the teachers.

On the other hand, we could benefit greatly from written communication on a regular basis. While speaking assists us to convey ideas immediately in person, keeping written texts is a convenient way to reserve our deep insights in long term and read them whenever we want regardless of context. It is hard to negate that a large number of precious and immortal novels, stories, poetries and other literary works have been passed through generations and they are still enjoyed worldwide. Not only are the humans’ sources of knowledge preserved safely, but the reputation of the authors and poets could also be widespread throughout the centuries.