Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is widely acknowledged that verbal communication has more power than its written counterpart. While this opinion is valid to some extent, I believe that written communication is more effective on certain occasions.

It is understandable why some people support the idea that verbal transmission is a more powerful language than written conservation. The key rationale here is that when communicating by oral language, the speaker can transmit not only the information but also his or her tone, tempo, emotion,… which play important roles to convey the message more clearly, effectively. Meanwhile, without these things listeners can even misunderstand what speakers want to convey. For instance, students would more easily understand lessons when teachers describe them verbally, compared to reading books or notes. Therefore, it seems sensible that spoken conservation is more significant than written communication.

However reasonable the idea that oral transmission contributes a more powerful value than written communication, I am convinced that the latter is still preferable in some circumstances. For example, businesses always use documents and commitment signatures are the agreement for parties in order to ensure the respect and compliance, and these written documents can also be fresh evidence in court in case the parties break the commitments, because it is long-lasting and explicit. This is a testament to how delivering by writing is more significant in certain situations.

In conclusion, while it may be justifiable for the power of spoken conservation, I believe that communicating by writing is also superior on some occasions.