Why do you think social skills are now being emphasized by companies during the recruitment process Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is widely claimed that learning social skills should be given more importance than good qualifications in order to reach the summit of one’s career. While this opinion is valid to some extent, I would argue that academic skills still exert a paramount influence on job success.

It is understandable why some people support the opinion that social skills play a more crucial role than good qualifications in job success. The key rationale here is that some jobs require workers to have good skills related to society in order to build relations with their companies and coworkers. Working in these jobs, those who are good at social skills would perform well and stand a higher chance of climbing the career ladder, while if they lack such skills, they would suffer from isolation and miscommunication, which hinder the overall working process. Therefore, it seems sensible why the idea that social skill is superior to academic skill for job success is stated.

However reasonable the idea that social skills are more important than technical knowledge for job success, I am convinced that the role played by the latter is undeniable. The reason behind this is that some jobs such as doctor, IT, lawyer,... require workers to meet some certain standard in terms of qualifications to work more effectively. For example, doctors often have to complete a 4-year college degree, spend 4 years in medical school, and then complete 3 to 6 years of training before becoming eligible for licensure to practice medicine. A person who does not have good qualifications may be unemployed, let alone getting a promotion. This goes to show the importance of good qualification towards job success.

In conclusion, while it is justifiable that social skills are important in job success, I still believe that the role of good qualification retaining such values is undeniable.