Sports encourage competition rather than cooperation Therefore sports should not be encouraged at school To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement
Recreational activities such as sports provoke a competitive attitude among students
instead of brotherhood and unity. Thus, sports should not be continued at schools. I
completely disagree with this statement.
There are a variety of reasons why I think sports should be promoted at schools. First and
foremost, sports are a great form of exercise that keeps students fit. By playing football,
for example, students might develop immunity to some common diseases that are
impossible to find in those who do not like to engage in sports. Furthermore, sports
entertain schoolgoing boys and girls which helps them to be refreshed. As a result, it is
often found that sports-playing students always cut a good figure in their academic
background as well.
Additionally, school-going boys and girls build their relationships while playing sports.
This is because they play as a team or unit in teen sports, which helps them to get closer
and make friends, and it enhances their leadership skills as well. Furthermore, sports are
very essential for both the physical and mental health of an individual. It contributes to
students’ physical health significantly. It strengthens the lungs, bones, and heart above
all. Apart from that, it reduces blood sugar levels and controls weight. Many studies
reveal that it may play a therapeutic role in addressing a number of psychological
disorders such as depression, anxiety, psychological distress, emotional disturbance, and
so on.
In conclusion, Although sports are responsible for the competition, I believe having
sports at school is much more beneficial in terms of the physical and mental development
of the students.