Students graduate from high school without knowing how to manage their money. What are the causes of this problem and how can it be resolved?

Nowadays, a common concern among high school graduates is that they leave school without any understanding or experience in personal financial management. This essay will discuss a range of causes for this tendency as well as potential solutions to the problem.

To begin with, one of the biggest causes of this problem is that the bulk of high school students live with their parents and are fully reliant on them financially. Most students do not have to work to earn money while in high school, as their parents provide for all their needs. Therefore, they don't gain any understanding about the realities of earning and saving money. Usually, the sole money that students receive is from their parents, and this can typically be within the variety of pocket-money that is given with the intent of spending it. Therefore, adolescents only really find out how to spend money, and not a way to earn, save or manage it wisely.

However, there are a variety of viable solutions to help students deal with this issue. The first solution is that basic money management skills may well be included as a compulsory subject for college kids in their high school years, which might help equip them with the knowledge and skills to manage their own personal finances once they leave school, move out of home and enter employment. The reception of education is the second feasible approach that may be implemented to help curb this problem. Parents must take responsibility to ensure that their children are adequately educated in such matters to make sure their children maintain a successful and independent financial situation after graduating and leaving home. They should teach their children about the value of money, how to spend it wisely, and how to save it, rather than simply giving them money to spend. Parents should also explain to their children why it's important to manage money properly and challenge themselves to start a suitable part-time job while in college. From there, their children will have a tiny income to spend and will be able to gain additional experience for the future.

To summarize, while money management may be a concern for many college graduates, there are several feasible methods available to address this issue.