Students leave high school without learning how to manage their money. What are the reasons and effects of this issue?

In this day and age, more and more students after graduation lack financial management skills. This essay will discuss two principal causes as well as effects for this social issue/ In my opinion, this issue can be caused by the lack of school curriculum and educational approach of parents, which in turn has significant impacts on student’s mindset and lifestyle.

With regard to the causes, one outstanding reason for this trend is that the current educational system mainly focuses on academic subjects, while essential life skills including personal financial management are being ignored. Such main courses would take up too much time, resulting in no longer having enough opportunities for money managing lessons. Another notable factor explaining student's lack of controlling money could be the overprotection from parents. Accordingly, they might not allow their children to pay attention and make decisions about expenditure because they are afraid of children’s excessive demands or spending. Therefore, rather than giving children the right to manage money, parents can tend to dominate them completely, which leads to financial controlled misunderstanding of children.

As for the effects of student's lack of learning how to manage money, one significantly detrimental impact this trend has is creating a misleading mindset for students, which makes them underestimate money problems as well as depend so much on their parents. Such a notion relates to students not having chances to visualize how difficult real life is, which easily causes disrespect to money matters. Another damaging outcome presented by this issue is that it could negatively affect life quality after high school. Poor money management confuses students when they have to get on by their budget if they have to live independently without parents' care. Consequently, high school leavers would face tremendous setbacks in economic problems arising in work or study.

In conclusion, mainly caused by the lack of the school curriculum and parent's extreme protection, misunderstanding of financial-control skills results in impacts on perception as well as a lifestyle of students.