Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that students should self-fund their tuition fee because it is them who are most benefited from education. Although I agree that education opens up broad-based opportunities for individuals, I do not support the idea that students must pay all cost of study.

On the one hand, it is true that graduates have much more promising careers compared to those who not attending schools because students are well equipped with work-ready skills and have broader knowledge. Schools are believed not only offer students with academics but also create an environment for everyone to self-grow from extracurricular activities and establish networking. For those reasons, it is compelling to call tuition fee a worthy investment for the future. In addition, if students have to pay for their cost of study, they will be more motivated to work harder to make the most of what they have paid a high price for. Therefore, therefore, their academic results will certainly improve.

On the other hand, it is not only students who can gain from education. Once joining the workforce, students who are well-trained can work at higher efficiency and therefore, make more profits for the companies. As a result, both the employee and enterprises pay higher tax because they have higher incomes. Funding for education, without doubts, brings about a huge amount of money for the governments to ensure social welfare. Another reason why tuition fee should be covered is that not everyone is privileged enough to afford the full cost of study. Making education inaccessible to the impoverished means restricting the development of prospective individuals.

In conclusion, while I cannot deny the benefits each individual gets from their education, I hold the belief that society also gains from high-quality workforces and should provide financial support for their education.