Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language is now a common practice and considered as of utmost importance. While some people suppose that new languages can only serve traveling and working purposes, I strongly believe those are not the only motivation for learners.

On the one hand, I can understand the viewpoint that a large number of learners only study languages to meet their communications demand while traveling or working in another country. Knowing the local language could be a powerful tool to get to know the culture and customs of a nation, which allows immigrants to adapt to the community faster and start their work with higher efficiency. Their life and career paths, therefore, are also brighter.

However, I believe a language can operate more functions than the only two mentioned. Scientists proved that the process of memorizing new vocabulary and grammars have positive impacts on one’s brain. Bilinguals, therefore, are supposed to have certain skills that others cannot. Moreover, the uses of a language are not restricted in its country of origin only. As technology advanced at a rapid pace, people who know foreign languages can access to a wider range of documents and videos of different fields compared to those who only speak one. For example, when searching for information about global warming, I managed to see the problems and solutions from diverse perspectives as many relevant organizations have publications in English. I could not have had that many insights if I carried out in Vietnamese.

In conclusion, I believe being able to travel and work in a foreign country is one of the main reasons why people learn a language but it is not the only one. Knowing a language can benefit learns in various aspects and people should learn a language even if they do not travel or work overseas.