Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on activities or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

Nowadays, the amount of time children spend on watching television is increasing noticeably in comparison with that in the past. Additionally, they also spend less time on active or creative things. This problem is caused by lots of factors and I believe it could be addressed by several viable solutions.

There are two main reasons for this common problem. Firstly, these days teenagerhave a heavy curriculum and too much homework to do. Therefore, they tend to sit or lie down and watch TV programmes after a hard-working day with a tired spirit rather than exercising - an activity that requires a lot of energy. Secondly, parents don’t motivate their children to exercise or do creative things. For instance, they are busy with a heavy workload so they don’t have time to pay more attention and play with their children, especially outdoor activities.

In order to solve these two problems, parents should encourage and play with their children regularly to limit their TV watching. In addition, it can help them improve their health and be more connected to their children. Moreover, teenagers can find something they are interested in like playing the piano, drawing or taking photos… to relax in freetime but not feel forced. These activities can also help them to improve many skills.

In conclusion, there are a variety of reasons why children spend much more time watching television and spend less time on active or creative things. However, these problems can be solved by some practical solutions