studies have suggested that nowadays, children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. what are the reasons and effects of this trend.

It has been observed that watching TV becomes a dominant form of recreation activity rather than other activities which require creativity.

My essay will analyse some underlying reasons and effects on children.

There are two major contributors to this situation where children show a tendency to spend time watching TV rather than creative activities. The first explanation is that telecasts have continuously been growing in number along with quality which is greatly attractive for children at young age.

Compared to the past when most TV channels were in black and white or viewers could only watch to a limited number of programs. Nowadays, hundreds of channels in high-resolution graphics are available on TV. That’s why, it is understandable why children choose watching TV channels like “cartoon network” and “minika go” over other activities. The second reason is the lack of care also encouragement from parents. Busy life breaks down the relationships between parents and their children and parents hardly have time to play with their children or encourage them to do some creative and healthier activities like painting. Children, as an outcome, turn to watching TV in their spare time.

Unfortunately, this has many detrimental effects on children’s behaviour

For instance, children suffer from lack of outdoor activities and exercise which are vital for children’s well-being and development. Moreover, this passive activity distract children from their lessons, this is because , in the past watching TV was not widely popular among children. That’s why they allot most of their time for doing homework and other creative activity which was more appeal for children than sitting in front of television for a long time.

To draw conclusion, several factors are cited as causes for children’s adaptation to this passive habit like installation of television and the effects of these factors on children such as lack of outdoor activities