Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leaving prison. Do you agree or disagree?

According to research, a significant number of prisoners have a low level of education. As a result, many people hold the belief that the reduction of the crime rate will be achieved effectively through educating prisoners for employment.I completely agree with this opinion.

Prison education must play a key role in improving the employability of prisoners and therefore making them less likely to be reincarcerated again. Firstly, By training prisoners for a job, It gives them the opportunity to broaden their knowledge with many novelties and acquire new skills which are essential for being qualified to work in the future. Thus, It can lift them out of poverty and unemployment, two common reasons for criminals' behavior to commit crime again. For example, a man named Stanley Richards, a former prisoner, was given the opportunity to enroll into classes that changed his life drastically and with that he became a taxpayer (“A College Education for Prisoners”).

Secondly, education of any kind in prison such as academic or vocational education helps the offenders to experience a more moral and meaningful life, helping them to understand the value of life. For instance, by helping others and dedicating their lives to society through their work can make the prisoners much more likely to rehabilitate and become a good citizen. Furthermore, educating prisoners for a job can bring them the opportunity to reintegrate into society and live in harmony with other people. For some formerly incarcerated individuals, they may struggle to communicate with others due to negative perceptions of them. However, by engaging in beneficial work, society may change its attitude towards them and recognize their effort and persistence. This recognition may help them feel acceptable and develop positive attitudes, replacing any negative intentions.

In conclusion, educating prisoners for employment can help them adapt to their new lives after leaving prison due to many benefits. This, in turn, is of use to prevent recidivism and make them a productive member of society.