Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when leaving prison. Do you agree or disagree?

It is proven by scientists that people commit crimes owing to their lack of education. It is, therefore, thought that the most effective instrument to get rid of crimes is to equip prisoners with jobs. I somewhat agree with this perception as the approach opens the opportunity for the crininals making money and dodge the negative impacts from other criminals, albeit it may not work out for those who habitually violate the law.

It is a well-known fact that the main inducement of crime is money. If the people who have done wicked things are enabled to land a job, they can make their livelihood. By having a stable source of income, these people can shake off poverty and better themselves. In the long run, given the benefits received from their education when being imprisoned, former criminals can raise their living standards and become good citizens of their community.

Another merit of job training for people breaking the law is that it alienates them from the impacts of criminal peer effects, the phenomenon at which law-breakers under the pressure of their like-minded friends, re-offend the regulations. This would not only pose a threat to society but place them at risk of more severe sentences due to recidivism. The education for those who are used to violating the law, would ameliorate the implications that habitual criminal behaviors have on them.

Admittedly, there are law offenders who have a tendency to repeat their scrupulous acts, and either education or job training may not be sufficient for those people. As criminal behaviors integrate to some people's personalities and gradually become their nature. The educational support for them appears ineffective. However, these people are few, it thus still needs the interference of responsible individuals and organizations to provide proper work training for prisoners.

In sum, I mostly side with the view that people who are kept in prison should be educated to work. The method provides the former law-breakers with a chance to make their living and relieves them of the drive to re-commit crimes, even though it may not work on individuals who have the tendency to repeatedly disobey the law.