study literature

People hold different views about whether students should study literature or not. Some people believe that it is better for students to learn some practical skills that enable them to do certain jobs and others argue that studying literature, such as novels and poems could equip students with useful skills. In my opinion, studying literature has several benefits for students and they should study it as well as other important courses.

On the one hand, from the perspective of some people, studying literature has no or little utilitarian value. They opine that students should study practical skills like business or technical education that prepare them for living in today’s area. They believe that due to the increasingly competitive labor market students should learn skills to make them more employable and enable them to establish a flourishing career in the future.

On the other hand, I would argue that the purpose of education is more than preparing students for the work world. Firstly, the most important advantage of the study of the literature is its cultural value. Culture is built on stories that may be historical, mythical, and religious. These stories help students familiar with their traditions and culture. So they are more likely to appreciate their culture, history and stay connected to their roots. Secondly, literature helps students to expand their vocabularies that enables them to have in-depth and thoughtful discussions in and outside of class. Last but not least, studying literature could broaden students’ horizons because it helps them to understand people who are different from them that makes them ready for living in a multi-cultural world.

To sum up, the study of literature is very essential even in today’s practical world. We need to study the literature to understand the world and its people better.